close menu
This website uses cookies to store your accessibility preferences. No personal / identifying information is stored. More info.

Accident Reports

The Hutchinson County Sheriff’s Office will not be able to provide you with any information pertaining to a processed accident report.

To obtain a copy of an accident report you must visit:  South Dakota Office of Highway Safety

What you will need:
  • Accident reports can take up to a week to process before it is available online.
  • Debit and credit card customers using the online system receive their report(s) immediately if the report is available for purchase. There is a $4 fee to locate and provide the crash report and a $6 convenience fee to purchase the online crash report. You may not be able to locate a crash report if the following conditions apply:
  1. Crash occurred on private property
  2. It has been less than 10 days since the incident occurred
  3. Marsy's Law three-day information release period has not been met
  4. Under $1000 worth of damage to any one person's property
  5. Under $2000 worth of total damage

To obtain a copy of a State of South Dakota crash report, a person must be able to provide at least two of the following:
  1. Date of crash
  2. Driver's last name
  3. County of crash

If you do not have this information, please reach out to the Law Enforcement Agency that investigated the crash to obtain these details.